An incredible day with Roger Hammond

Well my day started out with a visit to Domestique-Café Cyclo Sportif in Dundas, Ontario for a coffee to meet up with a good friend.  Domestique is the coffee place extraordinaire that not only has incredible coffee, beer and food, it is a gallery of cyclist paraphernalia from bike racers and races around the world.  Owned by Krys Hines who makes everyone feel at home, he has built a community that extends worldwide…..it is no wonder that the British National Cyclo-cross and road Champion many times over, Roger Hammond, walked through the door.

Roger Hammond and Jany Mitges

It didn’t take long to realize what an amazing Ambassador for the sport of cycling this man is.  I was welcomed to join in on the conversations with Roger, Tim Farrar (organizer for Paris to Ancaster race), Paul Nemi (supporter of Paris to Ancaster and cycling enthusiast) and Krys Hines.  It was Roger’s kindness, professionalism and sense of humour that made the afternoon feel like lunch with old friends.  He was incredibly generous with advice on how to be an exceptional Ambassador for cycling and how to be the best racer I can be.  The best moment, I’d have to say though, was watching his face light up when he spoke about recently becoming a father of a beautiful daughter.

Not only did I get to learn more about Roger and

Krys Hines, Roger Hammond, Tim Farrar, Paul Nemi

strategies for myself, I learned an amazing amount of cycling history from Tim and Paul.  A wealth of knowledge and enthusiasm for the sport filled the afternoon hours.  I left Domestique thrilled, educated, well fed and caffeinated thanks to all of these amazing men.

Roger will be at the Paris to Ancaster Race this Sunday, April 15th.  I am really looking forward to seeing him at the start line. By no means will I be able to keep up with him but I will enjoy knowing, that as I am racing, somewhere along the line I will have followed in the tracks of an amazing athlete, ambassador and father.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

