Santa’s helper….the finishing brush strokes!

IMG_2629

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

It is my final day of painting and wow…what an adventure! It could not have happened without the support of my furry friend and more than a few bottles of Belgian beer! This picture is from last year but nothing has changed except that I have more clothes covered in paint.

I would like to thank everyone that ordered an ornament or five. Your kindness and belief in my artistic skill continues to provide me the privilege of having a part of my heart and love of the season hang on a Christmas tree for years to come. I would also like to thank all the others that ordered Christmas cards or just enjoyed my work from afar and sent me supportive comments. In times of fatigue and discomfort, your thoughtfulness lit me up like the Griswold’s home from “National Lampoon’s Christmas Vacation!” and the motivation to keep at it.

This process didn’t come without a few extremely unpleasant folks with rude and mean comments that required a thick skin. My skin is quite thick and actually kinda leathery but it did make me rethink why I spend hours on each piece and put my heart into every brush stroke.  After a few tears and the realization that there are cracks in my thick skin that let things creep in at times, I went and found some epoxy and closed up the cracks. The answer to why I have been doing this since the late 1980’s is because I love to make people smile, I love to create something that is sentimental and well….I just love Christmas. Being asked to have a part of my heart in someone else’s home is just AWESOME! So the not-so-pleasant folks just might be on the naughty list next year and I’ll put my energy into painting pieces for those that like what I do and don’t expect a million dollar painting on a round surface and believe $20 is asking too much.

Now after hundreds of ornaments complete, a couple of retail locations (Freewheel Cycle and Dundas Speed Shop) giving me an amazing opportunity to expand my artistic gifts, I will finally put the brush down for a bit.  Some of the other completed ornaments will be posted once I get a chance to spend some time with my other furry friend (my husband), actually drink a beer or glass of wine that I haven’t accidentally dipped my paint brush into and get a little Christmas shopping done….well just a little…shopping is one of my least favourite things to do.

Until then, if you see a wild gal, singing Christmas carols, wearing a Santa hat with probably a few blobs of paint on her hands, face and clothes, the sound of bells ringing from her waist, dashing around various locations…it’s probably me. Santa’s helpers’ job is never done and I’ll take every opportunity to bring a smile or a feeling of warmth to as many non-furry and furry friends as possible. Life is too short not to!

Wishing all of you a Merry HO! HO!  from our home to yours and in the words of Santa Claus….”HO! HO! HO!….MERRY CHRISTMAS!”

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Santa’s helper….the finishing brush strokes!

  1. Cheryl Soper says:

    A very very Merry Christmas to you as well! Really enjoyed meeting you and your hubby @ Kris and Pete’s a couple weeks ago. I share in your absolute joy and love of the Christmas season-it rocks like no other. You just keep on creating beautiful things and revel in the positive feelings and feedback you get from the majority and discard the negative from those that maybe don’t understand all the time and energy it takes to create and just don’t get what you do and the amazing gift you have. 😀 Merry Ho Ho and all the very best to you and your family in 2016!!!

    • jjmisfits says:

      Thank you Cheryl. Your kind words mean a lot and I’ll be sure to continue on my path of loving Christmas and painting…kinda like breathing….essential! Merry HO HO to you and your family….I know some of them 🙂 Have an amazing 2016 full of dreams come true! Hope to see you again. Cheers!

Leave a Reply

